best films for fashion model photography

les_delano

Hi everyone

I am a fledgling photographer, past 8 months-- used to be a model--

and wondering what 35 mm films people recommend for both studio and

outdoor daylight model photography. I've been using Agfa 160 because

it gives a smooth skintone, but the colors are a bit muted. Is there

anything that keeps that smooth skin look and has a bit more color pop?

Kodak Gold 100/200 are too yellow for the studio lights( studio being

a third bedroom with Speedetron unit, 1 sofbox, 1 silver umbrella and

three rolls of seamless:).

Can someone break down the film types for fashion work, or direct me

to the right area?

Cheers

Leslie<div>003ghs-9302884.jpg.98eecb0fb6ba234e02e77ca5524ef7f2.jpg</div>

Helmut Newton once said: good fashion photography doesn't look like fashion photography.

I don't think there is any best film for fashion.

You have to have your own style, maybe Polapan is the best for you becouse it has this grainy look, maybe Velvia with its deep shadows, maybe Reala becouse of softness. You have to try everything and deceide what you want to do. That is my attidude.

I also think that printing is very important. You can shoot with Ektachrome, then put it into your enlarger and print it on a big polaroid, then copy it on a plain paper and it is not going to look like Ektachrome anymore.

Photography means 'painting with the light'. That means that you have to be creative!

Best fashion photographers are recognizable becouse of style not the film. Look at photography of Newton, Testino, Lindbergh, Meisel.