Best digital camera for shooting artwork?

I am an artist who uses an older Canon S50 for shooting my paintings. The LCD screen is really useful for

this purpose. Since the screen doesn?t swivel, I rigged a tiny mirror attached to it so I can shoot hand-held

with the art flat on the ground and the camera held up high, horizontally.

I am looking to upgrade to a better camera. I want a higher megapixel, and BIGGER CHIP (to reduce the

terrible barrel distortion I get). I thought about a DSLR, but without LIVE PREVIEW, it is useless to

photograph artwork.

Any recommendations? Do any higher-end point-and-shoots have a large enough chip that would reduce

barrel distortion? Any DSLRs with live preview?

Thanks!

DSLRs don't have a preview function - by design it is impossible - the mirror is alsways in the way! What's wrong with taking a testshot and then looking at it on the LCD of a DSLR? Use a ladder to get above your artwork and shoot down. What you see in the viewfinder of the DSLR is what you'll get in the final result.

There is such thing as (90 degree) angle finder for Canon and Nikon's DSLR. It should also yield better lighting and color dynamic range (shoot RAW). If you must have live preview, Check out Olympus's E330 DSLR which has a live preview feature. Their 35mm or 50mm macro should give you minimal bellow distortion.

The Olympus EVOLT E-330 is a DSLR with a live preview although I've read that the live preview feature isn't that good.

Barrel distortion is a function of optics, not the size of the chip.

My recommendation would be to learn photography without relying on the live preview function. It isn't needed for photographing artwork, you just haven't developed your skills in this area yet.

Ansel Adams did some wonderful pictures of sculptures without using a live preview.

-Tom