Best Digital camera for jewelry closeups and other things

I am new to using a digital camera.. looking for a digital camera that can take

a decent close up of glass jewelry with lots of color that would primarily be

looked at online in a store. . would also be taking some clothing pictures that

would be viwed on line, as well as other items in a different category.I do not

want a complicated camera.. this camera would also be used to travel There

would be some regular picture taking.. family shots.. nature etc..If i was able

to get a camera that would be light for travel and take these close up pictures,

that would be great.

I would not like to spend more than $400.00. I have seen some info. on canons

the Sd450 or Sd600. .. wonder whether is a good camera for macro shots. What are

considered the better digital cameras in my price range.. is Canon a favorite?

Whatever advice you have i would love to get.. the more i read the more confused

i get with all the choices out there. thanks!

Any digital camera will have enough resolution and color quality for WEB use (or any other use). You need two things - a tripod socket and a closeup range. I have (among others) a Fuji F10, which would work well. It has no viewfinder, but you need TTL viewing for your application anyway.

More important is the lighting for your subject. You need a light tent to handle reflective surfaces, and point-source lights for sparkle. You can buy fold-up light tents starting at about $100 (or make your own). Halogen lights would work well, including for "sparkle".

Get a used Olympus E-10, about $200 from KEH. This is a solid digicam with excellent optics and the level of manual control you'll need for the jewelry photography.

Regardless of camera, you'll need some basic lighting equipment:

1. A couple of off camera strobes. You want power and adjustable light output. Again, buy used; something like old Vivitar 283's or Sunpak 383's will do just fine.