christy_r

I am a beginner photographer - have bought a camera, done a course,

and taken lots of practice photos. My mom's friend has asked me to

do some black and white photos of her and her 2 daughters (aged 16

and 12).

I really want to use this as a learning experience - especially with

regards to lighting. I don't own any lighting equipment except my

flash, although I've experimented a bit with using existing window

light and some white cardboard as a reflector.

I will be using a black velvet backdrop, and I've asked them to wear

light-coloured clothing that will show up well against the

background. I don't have a studio, so it will probably be done in my

living room.

Does anybody have any hints or tips for me, especially with regards

to lighting? Any homemade lighting solutions I could rig up? :-)

Thanks!!!

Christy

:)

One solution is to hang up a white bedsheet at about a 45 degree angle to the subject and fire the flash off camera using a remote or cord. This will create a large lightsource and soft lighting which is excellent for portraits. You will need to do a test for the amount of light that is lost through the sheet if you don't have a flash meter.

I know of a very good Profesional Portrait Photographer that can use a bare bulb,white sheet and a mirror and get a Merit winning image. When you use a bare bulb, the light is very dim and I would recomend a flash unless you are in a studio environment.

I really like window light actually - I did this photo last year using window light and white cardboard as a reflector. I overexposed on the face though, I need to practice this lighting thing a bit more. :)

Only thing is, this time I will have 3 people (including the very photogenic girl in this photo), so it won't be so close.

Thanks for all your input!!!

Christy

:-)