Author photo shoot pricing

joel_b.1

<p>I'm a writer and professor and I make my living that way. I also take photographs and I particularly love making portraits. My work brings me into contact with a lot of writers and artists. Sometimes people say, "Hey, could you take an author photo for me that I can use on my book jacket/website/Facebook?" Other times, I'm the initiator -- I say, "Hey, can I make your portrait?", and then after I make the picture, people say, "Hey, that's great, can I have a copy of that to use for my book jacket/website/Facebook page?"</p>

<p>I don't necessarily need to make money doing this, but my dear spouse points out that I have spent a lot of money on equipment and a lot of time on education, and I probably should be charging what I'm worth. Also, I am aware that if I am giving images away for free, that may be somewhere cutting into the livelihood of the professional the subject might otherwise have hired. Also, I think having a set fee will discourage people who ask for an author photo casually without really thinking about the work that it entails for me. If I can say, "Sure, I'd be glad to, I charge X for Y service," that will cut down on the number of people looking to occupy my Saturday afternoon just for the hell of it. </p>

<p>So -- strange as it sounds to put it this way -- I'm resigned to the fact that I really should be charging people. But this conclusion generates more questions, which is why I've come to you today. </p>

<p>1. What's a reasonable rate to ask for spending an hour with someone and providing him/her with 5-7 edited full-size jpgs with a royalty-free unlimited use license? Figuring in my two hours of setup and two hours of editing on either side of that one hour shoot. </p>