Any tripod reccomendations?

solamnus

<p>I know many sigh and roll their eyes at the question "best" tripod for me;) But i am going to ask anyway but try to narrow it down to make it easier for anyone wanting to help out with a tip or two.<br>

I own a D700 and usually use Portrait lenses and my biggest is a prime 180. I almost never use my other tripod an old Manfrotto for amateurs i got way back and that might be a reason i seldom take it with me. I realise its time to step up and get something i can carry with me more often then not.<br>

I was looking at the Manfrotto 055 XPROB and it seemed to fit my needs a bit. But im a pure novice and only read a few reviews about them and still not sure.<br>

My budget would be around 150-300 Euros, and of course i would want the best that money could buy even if its not that much, i realise that hehe.<br>

My wish would be something pretty light, easy to carry around but still effective when it comes to release it and keep it steady but at the same time easy to maneuver when its attached.<br>

Any reccomendation for this lost swede? ;)<br>

/Martin.</p>

<p>I buy tripods used. For the most part, there is little to go wrong with a tripod, and if there is a problem, it can often be solved with cleaning. I bought a Linhof tripod that originally cost $800 for $250 and it was in perfect condition.</p>

<p>Also, "which tripod" is a personal decision. Height, ease of setup for example. And my biggest issue, I don't like twist locks like on the Gitzos. You can't tell if they are twisted or not by looking. One of the major reason for using Linhofs (which are now discontinued) is that they have flip locks, probably like your Manfrotto. I can tell instantly if they are properly engaged. Then again, lots of people like Gitzos, so it's obviously a personal choice.</p>