Amatuer Photographer

erica_gersic

I have been doing photography without any classes for a few years and have been doing good..I recently just bought

my classes from New York Institute of Photography and im very frustrated with it. I feel like i was taking better

pictures from before I took any classes. Im having trouble with lighting, and getting clear pictures, also with

understanding apertures and f-stops. If anyone can help me please let me know!

Thanks!

Erica

I think these issues would best be taken with the school.

What might be relevant is that as a general opinion on teaching Photography (having taught Photography at Technical College): Photography is a subject which lends itself more to a multiplicity of interactive teaching methods that are best executed ``hands on / face to face`` with a teacher AND other students, rather than on line or distance education.

I taught both: hence I feel quite comfortable making the comparison.

WW

Are you having trouble now after the classes....?

Did you used to shoot your work with automatic settings on camera or you used to use the manual settings...?

If you were doing well with manual use of camera earlier than I don't think you needed any classes. Well, please answer first to understand your problem well and also let us know what do you learn in classes and what are big problem areas.

A tourist family walking in New York City, taking in the sites, were looking for Carnegie Hall, overwhelmed by the city,

stopped a person then asked, "How do you get to Carnegie Hall?" He responded, "Practice, practice, practice!"

Same for photography.

You gotta get the basics down then move on. How can a person break the rules if you don't know what they are? I'm

teaching a class on Monte Zuckers style of photography (Classical Portraiture) and I suggested that everyone bring a

notebook and take lots of notes. I'm learning as much as they are!