Airshow Photography Questions

tom_collins3

<p>Hello! I am a portrait and wedding photographer but have an opportunity to attend an airshow this weekend and would love to get some great shots of the planes in action, but am DEFINITELY a beginner when it comes to airshow photography. Here is the gear that I'll have at my disposal:<br /> Canon 7D<br /> Canon 40D (backup body)<br /> Canon 70-200 2.8 (non-image stabilized version)<br /> Canon 17-55 2.8<br /> Canon 50 1.8<br /> Canon 28-135 3.5-5.6<br /> Tripod</p>

<p>I am assuming that the 7D/70-200 2.8 is my best combination but would love a second opinion on that. Also, any tips for focusing as the planes speed past? Would AI Servo with high speed continuous be the best way to capture close fly by's? Any other tips (or corrections to my logic) are much appreciated!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>For shooting aircraft on the ground, any of those lenses will be fine. For shooting aircraft in flight, I think the 70-200 is a little short. I've only done a couple of airshows, both at a small airport in Arizona where they allowed the planes to do low passes very close to the spectators, and even then I found the 70-300 Tamron to be at 300mm most of the time, and barely adequate there. Most airports and the FAA require the planes to maintain a lot more distance from the crowd, for safety reasons. (I still don't know how the Arizona guys got away with it.)</p>

<p>As for the tripod, consider that, if you're in a crowd of spectators, someone will always be in someone elses way - either yours or theirs. Plus, you'll need more mobility than a tripod will give you, because there's always something happening somewhere other than where your camera's pointed. Think monopod...</p>

<p>For in-flight shots, the 7D is the best choice. The 70-200mm will be short for most acts.</p>