I am a college student and have decided to finally get somewhat

serious about photography (I've always been interested, just haven't

done much about it). Anyway, up until the other day, I was thinking

about going out and buying a new camera. But after not being able to

decide which one is the "best", I remembered that I can use my dad's

old (but hardly ever used) Minolta X-700. From what I hear, this seems

to be a fairly solid camera. The only real disadvantage I see is a

lack of autofocus. So I've decided that I'll save some money and use

the X-700. Do you all think this is a wise move?

If so, I'd like to get a couple lenses for it. Right now I've got the

standard 50mm/f1.7. I'm not sure what my budget is right now, as I

haven't made a trip out to the local camera shop to see how much used

lenses for this camera cost, but I'd like to pick up two lenses in the

near future: one that will let me do really wide landscapes, and one

that will let me do some fairly nice close-ups.

Do you all have any suggestions? Please bear with me; I'm still

learning a whole lot. As soon as time permits, I plan on taking some

classes. Until then, I want to learn as much as I can on my own.

Thanks for your help. Photo.net has been a very valuable resource thus

far!

Charlie

I have 2 X-700 bodies and some other Minolta X series cameras with several lenses, mostly Minolta MD primes and zooms. This is a great camera! The choice of additional lenses is a highly personal one, and must be based on your needs, wants, and budget. If you don't have the owner's manual, I urge you to get one.

Advice no. 1: Don't use the "program" setting.:o)

"Advice" no.2: you can buy any used manual focus lens "just to try", since if you don't like it, you can sell it with very small or no loss. Go for non-zooms, like the wide-enuff minolta 24mm f/2.8 (good luck with finding it!).