8GB CF+ Hard Disk for $150+

m3rdpwr

I'm not trying to rain on anyone's parade, but does anyone else think that 8gb is "too big"?

No matter how well they make them, microdrives will always be easier to screw up than solid state cf cards.

One bad 8gb card (microdrive or not) could ruin an entire job or vacation's worth of photos in a heartbeat.

I too wouldn't use an 8GB microdrive even if it were free. Warranty is USELESS if the drive craps out on you (it will) and you're a newbie with just this one CF card. A 2GB SOLID State card is a reasonable max size to use assuming you have a couple CF cards for backup always handy.

I'm guessing most people wouldn't. But shooting raw plus large jpg takes a lot of room. Plus if I remember correctly on Canon's pro-line of camera's the second memory slot can be setup as additional storage or raid/backup storage for redundancy. Now, I'm no professional by any stretch, but I would think someone with a canon pro-line taking important professional pic's would set it up as raid/backup. Okay, I'm done ranting since I initially mentioned the 20D... :)

Just my 2 cents...

-Mario

8gb is not too big.

But it is a micro drive. That is the killer. It has moving parts.

BTW: I never have vacation photos in just *one* medium for more than 12 hours. I download every night to a laptop and burn the images to a disk. At that point. . . the disks are stored seperately from the laptop. I generally shoot 100-160 images per day when on vacation.

<i>the drive craps out on you (it will) </i><p>

"It will" sounds pretty final.<p>

I've had a 1gig microdrive since the first month it was available (2001?). I've used it regularly along with five CF cards. It's never "crapped out" on me. Yet I read about people having trouble with CF cards all the time.<p>

I'm not suggesting it won't, some day, but five years of heavy use is a long time. And "it will" is true of everything, isn't it?