7D Confusion

Marvin

<p>I've been using the 50D for several years but now I'm working my way through the User Manual of the 7D. I've almost always had the specific focal point on my 50D set to very center spot but I'm confused by the directions for way to set it on the 7D. Can someone provide a clear, succinct explanation on how to do this - the manual confuses me. Thanks.</p>

<p>Camera on<br>

Menu button<br>

Scroll shutter wheel to the Custom function Square (brown)<br>

Scroll back wheel to Select C.Fn III.<br>

Depress the center button on rear wheel.</p>

<p>Scroll, again using the back wheel to Autofocus/Drive-Select AF area Select mode.</p>

<p>Depress center button again.</p>

<p>Scroll back wheel to "Register".</p>

<p>Depress set button.</p>

<p>Scroll back wheel to select area desired (multiple areas can be set if desired).</p>

<p>Depress set button to place a check mark on selection. (rinse repeat prior step for multiple choices).</p>

<p>Scroll to "apply", hit select button, menu to exit. </p>

<p> </p>

On P,Av,Tv and M modes, press [+] on the top right corner, then M-Fn until single point autofocus appears, then use the wheels or the joystick to change it's position. If you go to another mode then go back to one of these, the focus point will be where you left it. If you save the current settings to a custom mode, then the current position will be memorized and every time you leave and re-enter this custom mode, the selected point will the the one you recorded.

Well, it seems that I did not understand your question :) Anyway, I still love the possibility of storing the selected focus

points to a custom mode. I use the C2 mode for portraits and hence I set it to a single-point that I position over the

leftmost spot of the second row (in horizontal and vertical orientations separately) which is near to where I will have

the eyes of the subject. If the subject is on the right side of the frame, I am also just one click of the joystick to the left