$5K to spend on 5D MkII: Which lens?

funcrunch

<p>So I had to send my 40D in for repair and the long and short of it is, even if the fix is easy and affordable, I want to get a second body now. I'd been meaning to upgrade to the 5D MkII eventually anyway and to keep the 40D as a backup; just wasn't planning on doing it this soon. Fortunately Mom has offered $5K to bolster my fledgling photography career, so now I have to figure out what else I can afford to get with it. (The MkII is running $2700, and not surprisingly is not covered by Canon's current rebate program.)</p>

<p>My current prime lenses that will work on a full-frame body are the Canon 50/1.4 (my favorite) and 85/1.8. On my 40D my walkaround lens is the Canon 17-55/2.8 EF-S and I also have a Sigma 30/1.4 and 50-150/2.8, none of which would work with the 5D. I have a Speedlite 580EX II flash as well, but have not yet needed to use it; my specialty is low-light photography without flash.</p>

<p>I'm an event photographer and shoot mostly concerts, but hope to get into weddings eventually. I was looking at the 70-200/2.8L IS (~$1500 after rebate), but realized that I rarely use my 50-150 now; it's too long for the bar/club settings I normally shoot in. So I'm considering the 24-70/2.8L (~$1100 after rebate) as well. But unlike my 17-55, the 24-70 isn't image stabilized, and is even heavier than the EF-S equivalent. And the longer telephoto would be useful for outdoor concerts and large venues, once I manage to break into those.</p>

<p>I can't afford both lenses right now, especially as I'll need lens hoods, UV filters, etc., not to mention more hard disk space as I'll be going from 10 to 21 mpx! I *could* use just my two primes with the 5D, as I did quite successfully for a gig Friday night (managed to rent a first-gen 5D that morning from a local shop), but I'd miss the flexibility of a zoom. Any suggestions? Thanks...</p>

<p>Julie,<br>