Hello... I am a student that last year took a B&W class and learned

how to process using a Bessler tank and reels, but I just used the

school supplied chemicals and all of the other equipment that they

had. I just bought a dedicated film-scanner and would like to begin

processing my own rolls and then scanning them for digital storage,

but I'm not sure exactly what chemicals I need. Could someone give

me a rundown on what i need to process Ilford FP4, I already have

the tanks and reels. I also need a rundown on which chemicals I can

re-use, and how much chemical I need per roll.

I would also like to get into developing my own color film, and have

no idea where to start. I am assuming that the process is similar

and that I need different chemicals, but what do I need and where

should I start. Any good books that would cover this? Should I be

using C-Processs? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob

Opinions as to what developer you should use would vary. Me, I would use Kodak HC-110 developer. How much you should use may be on the tank somewhere, usually on the bottom. ("Each film uses xx mls"). Don't bother to reuse/replenish the developer, it is cheap enough just dump it. Reuse the indicator stop bath and the fixer. The stop bath will start to turn blue when it is exhausted and the clearing time of the film will start to get noticeably linger as the fixer nears exhaustion. I would suggest you use Hypo clearing agent to reduce the wash time of the film and Photo-flo to reduce water spots.<P>

The main difference with color processing is that the development time is much higher and more critical. You can pick up a kit for color chemistry and just follow the instructions as to mixing and using. The shelf life of color chemistry is very short once mixed or opened.

James G. Dainis