Beginner Here Would Appreciate Critique

It's an interesting Landscape. Lots of different features.

Perhaps next shot think about what's intrusive, as well as what elements are interesting: for example the wispy tree branches in the middle at the foreground, do you think that enhances or detracts from your photo?

It's an overcast day, yet there is direct sun popping through the clouds to camera left and in front of the camera - this sunlight creates hard shadows in which there is not much detail in some areas, for example the rock face in front of the blue building, additionally, I assume it is the humidity, creates an haze in the background. Both these areas might benefit from Post Production enhancements.

All in all, if this is an example of your beginning work, I reckon you've done a good job.

Have fun with your journey.

WW 

Here is a rough (about 1 minute work) Post Production of some of what I would do if this were my Photo. I have made minor increases to Vibrancy; Mid Tone Contrast; Sharpness; Saturation and have Dodged many of the shadow areas.  

This is not 'a finished product' but rather an indication of how I see the image being improved, by using a little more, mainly subtle, Post Production.

The original is on the top.

The tree branches in the front of the image, which annoy my eye, would be best managed by having chosen a different Camera Viewpoint.

spacer.png

WW

Posted (edited)

Landscapes are easy to photograph, not so easy to photograph well. It's tempting to see a striking scene and point the camera at it, but you have to force yourself to look carefully at the image in the finder, moving your eye around particularly the edges to make sure there's nothing there to detract from the composition.