D810 to ??? with great AF-S collection

florian_lauffer

Dear team,

I am an amateur photographer that enjoys taking pictures of just about everything. No money to be made. 13 years of travel and family and my d90, became a D700 which became a D810. Even back then, the extra mega pixels of the d810 were presented as having no better high ISO than the D700 due to the increase in pixels. These cameras were great for quality pictures, but required a tripod for anything resembling dusk if you didn't want grain.

It should be noted that I have alot of terrific lenses, 14-24, 24-70, 70-200, 200-500, Micro 105mm, etc and I really don't feel like upgrading glass given that the lenses are still in incredible condition.

Sorry for the long preamble, but here is my question:

My D810 is lacking in high ISO performance and the tracking isn't that great either (or my technique is not good). If you were in my position, and wanted to keep the glass, what would be the best upgrade options for Nikon bodies, to keep my investment in lenses extended forward? Or is the improvement in lenses worth the sale at half price of all gear to welcome the new? Hoping not.

Thanks for your time!

33 minutes ago, florian_lauffer said:

Dear team,

I am an amateur photographer that enjoys taking pictures of just about everything. No money to be made. 13 years of travel and family and my d90, became a D700 which became a D810. Even back then, the extra mega pixels of the d810 were presented as having no better high ISO than the D700 due to the increase in pixels. These cameras were great for quality pictures, but required a tripod for anything resembling dusk if you didn't want grain.

It should be noted that I have alot of terrific lenses, 14-24, 24-70, 70-200, 200-500, Micro 105mm, etc and I really don't feel like upgrading glass given that the lenses are still in incredible condition.

Sorry for the long preamble, but here is my question: