Speed-lights and color correction...

hjoseph7

One thing Manufacturers rarely talk about is 'color correction' in Speed-lights. The more expensive Studio Lights usually have some type of color correction, so that when you turn-down the power, the color of the light looks the same. Not so with speed-lights such as my Canon 580 EX II. Don't get me wrong, this is a great professional flash unit that can put up with all the hardships of commercial photography, however the color-correction is virtually non existant.

I'm not an expert on this stuff, but I have heard of the term color-corrected flash tubes. As a matter of fact, that was one of my main deciding factors I used when choosing my studio lights.

I never really noticed any color shifts when turning down the power on a Speed-light because usally I'm using ETTL, until recently when I started using the Canon 580EX on the job in Manual Mode. 

In Manual Mode if you turn down the power on that flash unit from lets say full power (1/1), to half power (1/2), there is a significant shift in colors that you can see in your pictures, even on the back LCD of your camera ! A white wall will start looking pinkish. If you further turn down the power to let's say down to (1/4) that white wall might start looking yellowish.  

To avoid this I usually keep the flash at full power(1/1) and turn-down the exposure either by aperture and/or shutter speed, this way my images look uniform throughout. 

A lot of photographers are switching to speed-lights for example "Joe Mcnally" who is an expert in using Speed-Lights instead of bulky studio strobes. Maybe he knows something that I dont, because in the field, I have found that there is no way a Speed-Light can match a color-corrected Studio Strobe ?   

Edited by hjoseph7