Any Experience with Mitsubishi CP-M1 Dye Sublimation Printer

tomweis

Hi - has anyone here used the Mitsubishi CP-M1 at an event for a photo booth, etc..? Pros/Cons? Print quality (both color and B&W)? It weighs 30 pounds which is sort of a bummer, but I'm curious to know if anyone here has actually used it at a gig and made hundreds of prints with it. Thanks!

Hi, no, I haven't used that model. I've had a lot of background experience with pro-level dye sub printers, in general, though.

Here's the general breakdown. They can make very high-quality color images, provided that they have a high-quality ICC profile. They DO need a specific media, made just for that printer (media consists of paper and ribbon). I would suggest to plan your purchase with the intention of paying it off within a relatively short time, meaning just a few years, just in case. When it gets to where the manufacturer doesn't support it anymore, media-wise, it's just a paperweight. So it's something you want to buy as a piece of production equipment for your business, that's essentially pumping out profit.

FWIW there are essentially no surface options aside from glossy. Some makers have a "matte" surface available, but it doesn't really have a texture - it's made by "dithering" the overcoat layer. I've seen some that looked really good, but I'd personally avoid using because of potential long-term image stability issues.

Because of these issues it may sound like a bad idea. But if you plan to do on-site event printing there is nothing else to compete. Pro dye subs print fast, and the prints are completely finished, ready to hand out, when they come out the end. No waiting to finish drying, etc. No worries about ink drying in a print head, or anything like that. Just keep the printer in a case until your next event, haul it there, and start printing.