Butcher Carbine 4a film-pack

lucavisintin

Hi I just bought on Ebay this Butcher Carbine 4a (3 1/4 4 1/4 film sheets) thinking it was like the model 4 (film roll 120. 6x9cm).

I'm seriously Interested to use it, but this is my first attempt with these old cameras. I searched the web, this forum but I cannot find yet any film-pack info.

Any suggestion? Some friends Photographer, told me to check fidelity back.

Please share your knowledge or Experience.

Thanks for Your kind attention.

Best regards

Luca | Venice | Italy | flickr.com/photos/lv62/

FE802921-BF0D-442C-87B0-F4E6910A3802.thumb.jpeg.a156f2158603e6d89d88e50f6e579e46.jpeg 03899B21-3227-402C-92B3-C0BB67B83716.thumb.jpeg.754e003b9dbd81bc8b3766ceb7856990.jpeg 1BECB089-EF2D-452E-BD5F-7BD0FD06AFE9.thumb.jpeg.a69b6dc4a26a37e3bc470ac5f053868a.jpeg 739B2AFF-EE4F-4D39-AA9A-1C1BEE036C6D.thumb.jpeg.2ac0147a5d08ece281bb4fac47dff3aa.jpeg

The fact that the back comes off and has a red window immediately tells you that this was designed for rollfilm. What size rollfilm? Pick one from this list.

Short answer: You ain't gonna find any film to fit it these days.

You could adapt the back to take quarter-plate film sheaths, but that would ruin a nice antique..... unless you make a complete new back for it.

I once got some 35mm panoramic pictures out of one of these big old folding cameras by wedging a 35mm cartridge in to the feed spool cavity using Blu Tak. I'm not sure if yours would be big enough though. I improvised film rails with two strips of balsa wood across the film gate.

You have to tape over the red window, and film advance is by guesstimate. I practised with a scrap film to estimate the number of turns.

thanks Rodeo_joe|1, actually on the back there is a screw that open like a Windows where to install the film-pack. If I find one ti buy I'd like ti test some 3 1/4 x 4 1/4 film sheet I see available in eBay (Shanghai Name) or on German sites, maybe Aldo Ilford available.