decisions....70-200 vs 80-300? What do do?

bruce_feldman1

Forgive me if something like this has been posted. I couldnt find a similar posting.

I am a newbie/amatuer photographer with a D80 with an 18-135. I need to get a

longer zoom. I tend to take pictures of my son playing indoor ice hockey and

typical vacation type photos (outdoor and indoor).

I am struggling to make a decision on what lense to purchase. Specifically:

Nikkor 70-300 AF-S VR F4.5-6 or

Nikkor 80-200 AF F2.8 or

Nikkor 70-200 AF-S VR F2.8

I have a few questions:

Is there that big of a difference between 200mm and 300mm?

Do you know of a white paper/write up of the difference in lense lengths?

Is the VR worth the cost? That is the 80-200 AF is significantly less costly than

the 70-200 AF-S VR.

Theoretically I could purchase the Nikkor 70-300 AF-S VR F4.5-6 and the Nikkor

80-200 AF F2.8 or just the Nikkor 70-200 AF-S VR F2.8. Is it worth having both

the Nikkor 70-300 AF-S VR F4.5-6 and the Nikkor 80-200 AF F2.8?

In advance, thank you for your assistance.

Bruce

For indoor sports photography you basically must have a lens which is f/2.8 or better. f/5.6 is just not in any way adequate unless you can access an external flash system which is set up at the location. Also, the two f/2.8 lenses are of better optical quality than the 70-300.