May I see your best soccer photo?

jason j

Hello, I have been shooting children's soccer games for the past few years.

Although I am a rank amateur, parents really enjoy the finished photographs,

which has given me the encouragement and feedback that I need to improve. This

has also made me wonder about the experiences and expertise of other people who

photograph soccer matches. So here are my questions: What ways of photographing

soccer games have helped you get great shots and would you please show me your

best soccer images? Thanks!<div>00I4pP-32420884.jpg.5ebd4dce981356042debc6b4ae5c7691.jpg</div>

• Like 1

As a poor grad student, I went to a few games with a medium-quality zoom lens and a tripod and came up with what you see in

http://philip.greenspun.com/soccer/

I had zero knowledge of the game and no special skills. You can't choose where you stand, since the field itself is off-limits. A digital camera helps since you will be throwing away 95 percent of your photos. A 300mm lens (35mm equivalent; 200mm on small-sensor digital SLRs) is nice to have. A rapidly responding single-lens reflex camera is essential (i.e., no point and shoots!). Set the camera for "continuous" autofocus so that it will track motion. Use shutter priority and set the shutter speed to 1/750th of a second. On a cloudy day this might require an ISO 400 setting on the digital camera or ISO 400 film.

http://www.photo.net/learn/sports/overview

may be helpful.

I use a Canon 10D with Nikon manual focus lenses. I use the Nikon 400mm f2.8 AIS and Nikon 200mm f2 AI for all of my soccer shots. The best images come from the 400. I actually find the 400 too long on the 1.6x body and the 200 too short. I have often thought of adding a 300/2.8 again or one of those super slow 100-400mm autofocus lenses but I find the light gathering of the f2 and f2.8 primes too necessary, and the optical quality is phenomenal.