In case anyone is interested, I will be doing a field comparison of

an Olympus Zuiko 50mm f/1.8 against a Leica Summicron 50mm f/2 Type

5. After I get my equipment and test subjects together, I will post

the results in my personal portfolio on photo.net for all to see. In

the meantime, I have a couple of B&W's taken with a Zuiko 28mm

f/2.8, on photo.net. I love my Zuiko lenses! I'm new to Leica

photography. Hopefully I'll learn to love my summicron 50mm f/2

fifth version as much.

Make sure to do some at both close distances and infinity at the widest f stop. That's where I'm betting you'll notice the biggest difference in your test. I did a similar test comparing to my Nikkor 50mm to the 50 Summicron, and by the time the lenses are stopped down a few stops, the differences aren't that noticeable (at least as far as resolution and contrast.)

I mentioned this a few times previously:

I decided to buy another Leica (after 40 years) beacuse of the body, not the lenses.

This is a legitimate issue for discussion.

The Leica body, besides being precisely built (not just the new units either!), it is also one of the quietest cameras ever made and it's ability to be hidden in one's hands can not be surpassed.

I have also used Zuiko lenses, and, I agree...one fine set of optics throughout its range. They are among the top performers.

Last year I was given a "non-working" Minolta SRT101 with a basic 50mm 1.7 and, after getting it to work (a no-brainer), I have taken some photos whose sharpness, resolution, and contrast can not be surpassed by many other lenses. I use it now mainly for extreme color close-ups with a Vivitar 2X Macro Converter...Crisp Images!

My interest in the Leica is mainly for the body...I use Leitz, Russian, and Canon lenses on my M2 with great success.

I think you do have to admit that Leica has made a few "doggie" lenses over the years. Please share your test results.