Zorki rangefinders

Hi Janne,

The Zorki is a copy of the Leica II. As far as I know, they never produced a model with a light meter. A hand held meter is necessary for exact exposures, but the "Sunny 16 Rule" should work just fine for shooting B&W. You can find the answer to most of your questions at: http://jay.fedka.com/

If you can obtain one in decent working condition it will be a pretty good picture taker and introduction to rangefinder photography. The FSU (Former Soviet Union) lenses also have a good reputation if you can get one in good working condition. The Jupiter 8 is an excellent lens when paired with a properly functioning FED or Zorki.

Thanks Stuart and Fred for your input, I'll have a look at the link. Though introduction to rangefinder photography I don't need, I've been shooting with Leica M6 since two years. Just would like to use Zorki for more experimental photography.

Just a note in case you're unfamiliar with them, selenium meters are battery-less, and do wear out eventually.

<p>

You may get lucky with a working one, but given most of them are well over 20 years old, best treat them as suspect.

<p>

I've gotten a couple of selenium-cell equipped FSU rangefinders, but gave up on them after that - use a handheld meter or sunny 16 and you'll be fine.

<p>

As for lenses - I like the Industar 61 L/D - 55mm, *very* sharp and nicely contrasty (some say it rivals Leica M lenses, but I can't verify that). The Jupiter-8 (50mm) and Jupiter-9 (85mm) are Zeiss Sonnar copies, so a little softer, but nice for portraits/people pics.

<p>

Buying from a reputable dealer is key with FSU equipment - as above, I can attest to Fedka, I've also bought some things from <a href="http://www.sovietcamera.com.ua">Soviet Camera</a> in the Ukraine, and I've heard good things about <a href="http://www.okvintagecamera.com">Oleg Khalyavin</a> in Russia. A few eBay sellers are OK, including "moscowPhoto" in my experience.