Zoom Zoom...

tobias_hough

Okay, I see a lot of references to "crappy zoom" lenses throughout

this sight. Yet, I also read a number of positive remarks regarding

various zooms. And, this difference of opinion isn't allocated to a

particular brand either--some Minolta zooms seem to be frowned upon

along with third party brands. But, again, the same number and

variety of brands are lauded by photographers.

So, what constitutes a "crappy zoom"? Is it simply a small maximum

aperture frequently associated with camera kits? Or are there other

elements to look out for? I'm asking because I have no experience

with zoom lenses, and would like to gain some knowledge about them

before considering a purchase. (I'm talking about AF, Maxxum-style

zooms here.)

Thanks a lot.

A lens is 'good' when it delivers pictures of the quality you expect and want. A lens is 'crappy' when it doesn't do that.

Come to think of it, I never had a single prime lens that that didn't fall in the first category, save for some that were very old and clearly faulty, such as full of fungus or lots of oil smeared over the inner lens elements.