zoom vs crop

brian_hooks

<p>Right now my longest lens is my 80-200 2.8 (push pull). I have found that even though it is old it still takes great pictures and when i reach the end of it's zoom capibilities I am able to crop my photos and get very good shots from longer distances. My question is more of a theoretical one where I wondered if there would be any (noticable) difference between an image that was say taken at 200mm then cropped vs. one that was shot at say 300mm. With all variables being the same like f-stop and shutter speed I would tend to believe they would be very close indeed. I am by no means an expert photographer so I am posting this theory question in hopes that perhaps the more knowledgeable photographers may be able to explain it to me.</p>

<p>Yes there may be a difference (depending on how you view the final images) if you took the two shots from the same spot and enlarged the one taken at 200mm to the same size as the one taken at 300mm. If you are using film, there will be more grain visible in the one taken at 200mm; and if you're using digital, instead of grain, there may be pixellation in the one taken at 200mm. OTOH, if you zoomed with your feet (ie moved closer with the 200mm shot) so that the image taken with the 200mm shot was the same size as the image taken further back with your 300 mm lens, there should be no discernable difference between the shots.</p>

<p>I agree. My 18-200 mm zoom already acts like a 27-300 mm on a D300. The output size is nearly 14" on the long side. Since I only need 10", when I finish cropping the 18-200 is now more like a 400 mm on the long end! Plus, I have the advantage of tilting and precisely cropping the final photo the way I want it.</p>