Zoom suggestions for Nikon D3

cham_saranasuriya

I am interested in buying a D3. I am an amateur photographer mainly interested

in landscape, travel & portrait photograpahy. Until now I have used F5. Also I

have FM3a & F3HP. I only use manual lenses with them. With my F5 the most

commonly used zooms were 17-35/2.8 & 70-200/2.8 lenses. The 17-35/2.8 is my

favourite lens so far. I did not use my 28-70/2.8 or 35-70/2.8 so I sold them.

As we know there are 2 new zooms 24-70/2.8 & 14-24/2.8. Which zooms should I

use with a D3? I am tempted to buy them both & sell my favourite 17-35/2.8 to

fund them. I am not sure whether I might regret this as the 17-35 range is very

popular & previously I did not use much of the 28-70 range. But the new zoom is

more versatile as it covers 24-70!!! And for superwides I can use the 14-24. I

would appreciate suggestions & rationale behind.

If you didn't use your 28-70 you probably won't use the 24-70 that much either.

You have everything you need for now. The 17-35 and the 70-200. Just get the camera (I

think the D3 is overkill for non-professional photography, but if I could afford one easily,

I probably would get one... It seems it's not a stretch for you). The 50mm f1.4 or f1.8

would be a nice low-light addition for real cheap.

But shoot with the 17-35 and the 70-200 for a while. THEN buy the lenses you need to

fill the gaps you wish you could shoot at. The 14-24 is NOT a replacement for the 17-35.

It is a very specialized lens, incapable of taking filters. You only need it if you really need

that perspective. Personally, I don't. I'd rather have the 17-35

I agree with Peter. You already good lenses. Play with the D3 for awhile and see what you

need. If you are coming from an F5, I am not sure why you would need anything other than

what you have, assuming you are able to capture what you want, now. You are going to have

so much fun with the D3, I wouldn't worry about new glass now. Enjoy!