zoom lens for Nikon D80

joseph_lee7

for roughly about 6 months, i have been into photography trying to learn about

this and that, but for me, the hardest thing to learn is what makes a good lens

good?

i'm still a beginner in the world of photography but i was hoping that someone

would be able to help me find a good/nice zoom lens for my D80.

i currently have a 50mm 1.8/f Nikkor lens but i'm in need of a zoom lens.

thanks.

i want to shoot scenary, portrait, landscape, basically, if there is an overall good zoom lens for generally everything, that would be nice. if not, i'd also be interested in leaning to one specific area with a nice zoom as well.

thanks for responding so quickly.

Good lens...

1. Sharp enough at most apertures to do justice to the capture medium (whether digital or film) and output medium (whether print, projection or screen display).

2. Accurate color rendition.

3. Resistance to flare.

4. Low distortion (a necessarily flexible criterion for budget zooms).

5. Usable without needing a 50 page instruction manual.

6. Affordable.

A good midrange zoom lens for the D80 that meets all of the above criteria is the popular 18-70/3.5-4.5 DX Nikkor. Quite a bit of barrel distortion from 18-24mm, but acceptable for many purposes.

There are better midrange Nikkor zooms, but they cost more. There are faster midrange zooms in this price range, but not Nikkors.

what's wrong with one of the nikon kit lenses?

the 18-70 is highly regarded for its relatively fast aperture, clean optics, metal mount, and dust seals.

the 18-135 adds more reach and some praise its sharpness

the 18-55 has crisp optics and good close-up focusing and easily delivers the most bang for the buck out of any of thexe

and the 18-200 Vr is perhaps the ultimate all-in-one lens

looking past the basics, for landscape, a wide angle, ie. 12-24 or 10-20 is nice

for portraits, a 28-70 or 28-75 is about the optimal range on a DSLR