Zenza Bronica Etrs problems - red led light constantly on

natasha_marshall

Hi guys,

I recently bought a Bronica ETRS on eBay. I bought a new battery as the battery supplied with the camera was clearly dead as the led

light didn't appear when I pressed the battery checker button. However, when I replaced the battery the led light indeed did show up,

however it won't turn off. The light seems to just stay on until the battery drains. Does anyone know what the problem might be? I've

checked all the parts, the mirror does seem to be very dusty.

Any help would be much appreciated, I wanted to use my new Bronica for a shoot tomorrow :(

This is also my first medium format camera, so I have limited knowledge about them!

Thanks,

Tasha

<p>If you don't know much about your camera yet, don't jump in and use it for an important shoot right away. Get a copy of the operating manual at www.butkus.org, and spend a few days getting familiar with the operation of your camera (and prism depending on which version you have), clean stuff up (like the focusing screen/mirror), make sure all winding mechanisms are smooth, the shutter fires properly, etc., and you resolve your light on issue. Then, and only then give it a test run with a sacrificial roll to make sure everything works properly. I remember having one about 15 yrs ago and jumped in without testing everything first....needless to say had I spent a day or so fully familiarizing myself first, I would have had much better results. It is a neat camera though and can produce some wonderful results.</p>

with modular cameras, you can narrow the problem down by taking off parts till the

symptom goes away. alot of times the prism can be the cause because of a dirty contact.

try to snap the test button as it just may be stuck in due to dirt n crud. a very very tiny dit of wd may free it as you work it in.

The more you say, the less people listen.