Zenit TTl and 12xp

<p>Hallo,<br>

I am new to analog photography and am looking to buy an analog vintage camera. I was thinking of buying a Zenit camera, to be specific i was doubting between the 12xp and the ttl. The 12xp came with 3 lenses and the ttl with nice leather bag and just a standard 2/58 helios 44w. I have no idea which one of the two is better and weather Zenit is even a good buy. Any advice is welcome. </p>

<p>Is there any specific reason you want to buy a Zenit? Analog cameras are pretty cheap nowdays and there are better choices both in terms of features and reliability (I know, reliability for a 30+ year old camera is relative...): Nikon (or Nikkormat), Pentax, Olympus, you name it. Even a Praktica would be a safer bet.</p>

<p>The Zenit is the equivalent of a T-34 tank. Works well where it needs to, but pretty much looks on the inside like it was put together by a high school welding shop. There was a distinctive Soviet style to these things that make them a little awkward for people who didn't grow up with them. :)</p>

<p>If you want to do FILM photography, honestly, I would recommend an "L" series Praktica ( http://www.praktica-collector.de/Praktica_L_line.html ). On some of them, the light meters still work, although any camera that old will always be somewhat of a gamble in that regard.</p>

<p>I will also point out that unless you are wedded to manual focus, early AF film cameras, especially the early Canon EOS cameras are very cheap - lenses, still fitting digital cameras, somewhat more.<br>

Of course, these early AF cameras can be set to all manual operation if you wish.</p>

<p>Yes, the Zenits do have a certain..er..charm as JDM has said, but you may be better served with a Pentax Spotmatic or Minolta SRT camera, which will give the old classic experience with more reliability.<br>

But if the Zenit is really cheap, by all means have a go at it, they do take good pictures and may serve you well enough to get that "film" experience.</p>