Zeiss MF lens focusing problem on D70

studor13

I continue to read that there is a lot of interest in the new Zeiss

lenses for Nikon mounts. So, when I got the chance to borrow an old

Zeiss CF 80mm f2.8 and a Sonar 150mm f4, I decided to see for myself

what the fuss was all about, and bought an adaptor ring for my D70.

Being a beginner I stupidly bought the ring which doesn�t have an

infinity lock making it v.hard for me to shoot landscapes. On the

80mm infinity is somewhere between 7-10m and on the 150mm around 30m.

In fact just about everything is difficult to focus accurately.

My questions are:

1. How can I get accurate focusing, especially for infinity, and more

importantly:

2. Are the Zeiss lenses worth the bother, giving that some basic

tests I did show that my 200mm AI f4 is sharper than the 150, and my

75-150 Series E is at least at sharp as the 80 (not to mention that

IMO the colors and contrasts on the Nikkors are as good if not better)

My only reason left for continuing this nonsense (yes I was warned

against it on PN) it seems, is that some of you say that there is

good bokeh to be had on the 80mm. Another Zeiss myth?

The sad truth is that AF cameras are extremely difficult to use for critical manual focusing

unless you can change the focusing screen.

Regarding Nikkor lenses being as sharp or sharper than Zeiss, I don't think anyone

knowledgeable will dispute that. On the other hand, there is more to lens quality than

sharpness. Out of focus rendition, contrast, flare resistance, colour consistency, sharpness

consistency across the whole picture are as important.

All the great optics companies have exceptionnal designs and not-so-good designs in

their range, so it is impossible to establish a ranking by company.

And the worse is, in the end, it does not matter that much ;-)