Your own stories - How did you start photographing?

jane_qiu

<p>Good day to you all:)<br>

I am a newbie. My job has nothing to do with fotos or cameras, but i am interested in taking photos. Or in other word, i am interesting in taking photos of good moment. I don't have any professional camera right now. Normally when i want to take photos, i just use my Iphone. Of couse the photo quality is not that good, but at least i am able to keep the moment and share with other people:) I am not rich, so if you can suggest some devices or teach me something, that will be much appreciated.<br>

All the best,<br>

Jane</p>

<p> </p>

<p>When I was 12 years old a man by the name of Dr. Richard Beeching, commissioned by the government, decided to rip up our local railway line, which ran just over the fence from our garden. Now, as a child, from pretty much as soon as I could walk, I used to hang around the railway sidings watching the wagons from the local colliery being shunted. Occasionally, if work was slack, I'd be invited up into the cab of the shunting locomotive. (This was in the days before the health and safety sturmstaffel had stuck their noses in.) Happy days - and then it all came to an end.<br>

That previous Christmas my aunt had bought me a camera, an Ilford Sprite 127, which had two aperture settings (bright and dull) and a single shutter speed. Nevertheless, with this rather quaint little grey plastic camera, I took four shots of the final day of our railway line. And it was then I discovered the documentary power of the camera.</p><div>00cptr-551179684.jpg.795150582cf0b2533c81d568d02499bf.jpg</div>