Yellowstone + other ?s from the that Aussie

nick___

Thanks for all the advice, it looks like you will make a half decent pseudo Nature photographer out of me. I will still drive to Cleveland, to meet my friend and visit the rock�n�roll hall of fame. (I am a rock photographer with an interest in nature-landscape photography).

<p>

I will take the advice and camp overnight, in some of the national parks. (Olympic, Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Grand Canyon (North Rim) and possibly others), probably during an two day hikes. I aim to travel light, especially when hiking, (minor shoulder problem courtsey of a motorcycle accident) and will eat cold However, I am use to a warm southern Californian climate (we had our coldest day in recorded history (100 years) last month when it fell to 32F) and I have not be camping for a few years. So any advice would be appreciated. I presume Yellowstone in late September will be the coldest I will get on the trip. So what is the minimum equipment, necessary to survive?

<p>

One thing that does concern me a little, is the likelihood of unsavoury encounter with a bear, seeing I will be hiking alone. I know bison have injured more people in Yellowstone than any other animals. From the posting here, rutting moose and bison can dangerous but predictable if you keep your eyes open, watch for the signs and keep your distance. Bears seem more unpredictable, I know a good book on bear safety (Stephen Herrero's "Bear Attacks - Their Cause and Prevention") has been recommended, unfortunately the chances of finding a copy in Australia are remote. So should I be concerned or not? Should I try and find a copy of the book or can somebody point me to a source of information on the web?

<p>