Yashica 42-75mm

I have been using this lens for 27 years, it was the kit lens with my FX-7, my first SLR. Optically it is very nice, never had any reason to complain about it. It is well made and tolerates unspeakable abuse. The zoom range obviously is modest, it really is just a normal lens that saves you the trouble of taking a few steps forward or back. And considering this, it is slow. But I liked the image quality better than any of the 28-80 type zooms that I've tried.

<p>Sometimes referred to as a "framing lens" because they were very useful in fine tuning the composition of a photo rather than making major changes. We sold a few of 'em as well as the Fuji equivalent. Sometimes they got a bad rep, but it was mainly because being slow it was sometimes hard to focus. At the time these lenses were made this range and maybe a few of the better 35-70's were as much range as one dared to go for unless prepared to spend major bucks or settle for a mediocre performing 28-80 or so. I tested one once and thought it was pretty good. Why? At this time it was relatively easy to make a good performing zoom at a economical price if the zoom range was kept to 2:1 or less.<br />The verdict: definitely a keeper. You may want to add a fast normal prime later for low light situations. Should make a good "walking around" lens.</p>

<p>I have had one of those for years. I carry a Yashica FX-7 often as a toss-in-car walk-around camera, and that's what is usually on it. I had another on my now-defunct FX-1, and it's one of the reasons I grabbed the FX-7 at a yard sale. It is slow, but with its short zoom range obviously not entailing a lot of optical compromise, it's pretty sharp.</p>