XTOL Chemistry Failure Prior to Mixing

I have been doing black and white photography for over 50 years, and thought I had seen it all. I mixed up a packet of 5L XTOL (with an expiration date of about a year or so from now) developer which had been inadvertently stored in a hot garage for about 3 months. The powder looked good and the mixed solution looked good. I like the results Xtol delivers. So off I went processing a roll of TMY 135-36 taken with my Leica M4. The result was a barely discernible image, no where good enough to salvage. The edge printing on the film looked normal. Hmmmm, I thought I must have screwed up something so discarded the whole batch. Second guessing myself, I wondered if somehow I put fix in first or some odd thing even though my developer solutions are kept in unique containers (old TMX developer plastic containers). After discarding the first batch, I carefully mixed another 5L package of XTOL like I have done dozens of time. I exposed a test roll of TMY 135-36 at normal box speed, with some exposures grossly overexposed as part of the test. Absolutely NO image this time, but edge markings are present. My conclusion is that storage of powdered Xtol in heat is not a good thing! While there was no evidence that the bags were breached in any way, I am assuming the 100 degree temperatures (at peak) in my garage were not kind to the chemistry.

I am posting this as I found a lot of information about Xtol failure AFTER mixing into solution, but not so much about failures PRIOR to mixing (with the exception of the packaging issue early on). I sure wish I would have remembered to put that box containing LOTS of Xtol packages in a "cool, dry, place." Thankfully, I have some D-76 that has been stored properly and it worked well of course.

I exposed a test roll of TMY 135-36 at normal box speed, with some exposures grossly overexposed as part of the test. Absolutely NO image this time, but edge markings are present.