XTi or 30D?

dee 14

Hi! I am fairly new to Photography, and new to this site, I am wanting to

upgrade my current camera (Minolta A200) and finally get into an SLR camera.

I have read many reports, and comparisons between the XTi and 30D, but I wanted

to hear from actual owners. I would love the 5D (who wouldn't?), but don't

have that kind of money or experience to justify it.

One thing I definately would like info on is the ISO range of both camera's. I

shoot ALOT of low light photography and my current camera looks to grainy at

anything above about a 200 setting.

Thanks in advance for any and all feedback!

Or consider a used 20D. It's almost the same camera as the 30D (it uses the same hardware).

And handle both the consumer (Rebel) and prosumer (EOS **D's) cameras. In my humble opinion, the Rebels are pretty awkward to hand-hold and are not so ergonomic in operation.

Thank you for the responses, and perhaps I will wait. I just hate to think of spending more money just because it's the new thing out... As far as it goes for the 20D, I had been told that the 30 and XTi are far superior camera's.

Again, any comments about clear ISO ranges on either of these camera's?

Darren, I'm faced with the same delimma you are and have decided to wait to for PMA to see what the new cameras are like. But having played with both the XTi and 20/30d I've decided that if there is nothing I like at PMA then for the same price as a new XTi I can buy a used 20D, which is a much better camera.

I agree with the others who said you should handle both, decide which feels better in your hands.