XSi Auto Sensor Cleaning & Bulb Setting

joe_diecidue1

I have been using my Canon Digital Rebel XT for three years now and have been happy with it. But lately I have

noticed that when ever I change lenses I get dust on the sensor. For the first two years no real problems just

within the past year it has been a common occurrence, no changes in my lens changing habits. So my Arctic

Butterfly has been getting a work out.

Along comes the Canon’s Digital Rebel XSi with Integrated Sensor Cleaning. Does anyone have any comment on how

good a job it does on keeping the sensor clean? I know making lens changes will always present a challenge for

keeping things clean just wanting to know if it is worth it.

A second question is how long is the Bulb setting on the XSi? Some websites and documentation make it sound as

if it is limited to 30 seconds or some time limit, beside the battery dying. I have had no problems with the XT

at 15 minutes, with an AC adapter.

Any info would be deeply appreciated before I jump on the XSi. Thanks.

JoeD

The sensor cleaning, I am sure does help, but does not take care of it 100%. So you will still need to clean it from time to time. Just maybe a little less often.

Bulb, as with any EOS camera, it will keep the shutter open until the (shutter)button is released, or the battery dies. There is no time limit. Any Canon DSLR can be set for up to 30 seconds exposure, but that is not "Blulb".

Jason