Xmas present.... 35/85/24-70

Rene11664880918

Well, it's that time of the year again.... I worked all year long (2 months) and I think I deserve a present.

According to prices in Japan I decided to get a used 24-70 coz I get over 20% discount on the used one. I also decided to get the AFS 35

f/1.4 (new, almost no discount between new and used) coz my favorite lens on my D700 is my 35 f/2. So with the 35 f/1.2 I get a 35 on

my D700 and a 50 on my D300. My dilemma is the 85..... The 85.

3 choices..... AFS new at XXX Yen, Sigma new at half the price or AF used at the same price of a new Sigma......

The problem is I can't try them before I buy them and there is no such a thing like if I don't like it I can return it....

So, I have to relay on you, PN members, to make my decition..... I know Matt or is it Kent will tell me go with the Sigma..... :) what about the rest of

you??????

I'm not a pro, but I can afford what ever it is..... I just don't wanna buy a lens an be unhappy with it.....

Anyone willing to help me?????

PS: I don't read lenses reviews but until now I guide myself with people in PN and so far I've been happy. So I'm back again.......

<p>If I remember ?, you have (or had) the expensive 24/1.4 Nikkor ? At that time I wondered why you did not go for the 24-70/2.8, but I figured that you are kind of person that would not settle for a second best, and your quality threshold criteria are very high.<br>

If you are going to loose some sleep over getting Sigma instead of Nikkor ? ...</p>

<p>Rene' -</p>

<p>I'm not sure you recall, but I had a similar dilemma when I purchased my 85mm f/1.4 D, (which I chose for various reasons over the G). </p>