Would you sell your Leica gear for Hasselblad gear?

michel_girerd

OK, here is the deal...I'm a student and I�m also working, and

things being what they are right now, money isn't a easy thing to

come by these days...:) now, I've always had quality taste...:(

I purchased 3 years ago a Leica M6 (Black Paint Lhsa), along with a

50mm Noctilux and a 21mm Asph, which i love very much indeed.

Now, i'm seriously considering to move to medium format (my interest

being fashion and landscape photography). I have been studying MF

gear online, and decided to go with a Hasseblad 503CW kit (80mm) and

a 180 CFE lens....

At this point I have two options: Charge my friend "Credit

Card"...or sell my Leica gear, which would be enough to cover the

cost.

But I'm sure that at this point that selling the Leica would be a

huge mistake that i would regret later on (i just love the object

itself...fetishism?)

You two cents will be hugely appreciated.

thanks

You'd regret very much selling your Leica & gear. They are like

apples and oranges, and if you got the MF, you'd be able to do

your fashion and landscape AND then use your Leica for street

shooting, informal portraits, sports, travel, etc. Hey, you might

even be able to make the MF pay for itself in a year, and then

you'd have the best of both worlds.

Michel,

Medium format probably wouldn't replace your need for 35mm. I thought that it would for me and it hasn't. I suspect you would regret selling the Leica for many years. You could always try some used gear first to make sure you like medium format. I found that I did not like the square (though many do!) and prefered 6x7 instead. I'm glad I didn't invest a lot in my first mf cameras...

Regards,

Jim Seaman