Worth using Hasselblad X1D or Fuji 5r II with V lenses? does anyone use x1dII with old v lenses?

gianlucapasto

Hi all,

I am tempted from the x1dII or the 5r being a Medium Format lover and owning almost all old V lenses. I still use my 501 and 503 with films and I have a A7RII with various 35lenses... but. very tempted from getting digital on MF as well so would like to hear your opinions and experiences.

I've read the V lenses are not up to today's standards about resolution, OK, but they have a great and special "look" or "feel" and I am wondering if someone can share his/her experiences in shooting with the 50mpx of the current fuji and Hasselblad MF cameras.

I shoot mostly handheld landscape and architecture, I am no PRO photographer, just an enthusiast.

thanks in advance for your help and suggestion

greetings from Europe!

Do you mean Fuji GFX 50R? Great camera. Tons of image quality in a small package. The Hasselblad is similar. But for amateur use, handheld, a high res medium format digital with manual focus lenses doesn’t seem like the best use of resources, especially if you already have an A7Rii. Using it that way you’re not going to get all the detail the camera is capable of and the shooting experience won’t be anything special.
  • Like 1

Using the V lenses on the Fuji or 'blad compact mirrorless MF cams is one of those "sounds interesting, is doable, then when you try it you discover its not terribly practical" ideas.

The first disappointment is the crop factor: these cameras have 33x44 sensors vs the 6x6 field the V lenses were designed to cover. So the 80 Planar functions more like a 105mm, the 50mm or 60mm Distagon wides become your "normal" lenses, the 40mm Distagon becomes just marginally wide, and the tele/portrait focal lengths become significantly longer than you might be used to with 6x6. Depending on your preferred V focal lengths for various shooting situations, this can be very frustrating.