Workplace portraits (kind of).

Some of the excellent people shots here in the last few months have

got me going on a project the last month or so. I really like photos

of folks in their "natural surroundings", but I'm not really good at

initiating photo sessions with strangers. I've actually done quite a

bit of it, but I have to really work at getting into the groove, so to

speak, of getting close to an unknown person with the intent of taking

a decent shot. Kind of the opposite of the grab shot. So here are a

few from the "groove" (a settled routine).

This first on is Bruce. Bruce is a jeweler. He makes some of his own

stuff, and does a lot of jewelry repair. Here he weighs out some kind

of gem stones.<div>00CU7B-24028484.jpg.ea9c7e7b0a97d9e4fabb9c40d03cf7b4.jpg</div>

Dennis is a chainsaw wood carver. He makes statues of all kinds of dogs. An interesting fellow. He once sold ten thousand wooden dogs on QVC (a shopping channel). He told me the first 1500 sold out in 43 seconds. Talk about having your work cut out for ya!<div>00CU7P-24028684.jpg.d583944535f33891e1903599888e5086.jpg</div>

Thanks so much for the kind remarks, folks.

I've got quite a few of these, really, but I need to stick with it for an extended length of time to get consistant. The hardest part for me is going back for a re-shoot. I need to do that for the shot of Francis. Low shutter speeds and an animated subject make for a less than crisp photo. Some folks take to it better than others too. Many want to stand up straight and smile into the lens. Not always what I'm after. Very satisfying when I snag a good one, though!

Dean, what a fantastic job. great idea indeed. please share with us how do you approach this people to pose. I assume you tell them you will post the picture on the internet, is this not a turn-off.

Only people I managed to pose for me was my family, I'm kinda shy in this regard. thanks for sharing

Thanks, Mihai.