Working with Models

cyrus_procter

<p>Hello, my name is Skyler Proctor. Thank you for looking at my post. I'm a photographer, well actually I'm a filmmaker who also shoots photography. I'm a story teller. I love working with actors, its one of my passions in life. When I started shooting fashion & portrait photography, I thought those skills would carry over, and they do to an limited extent. In films, actors don't need to be told how to pose, or how to act, they need stimulation, creative stimulation to drive them in the right direction and they can take it from there. To interfere too much with an actor makes them seemed posed, makes their performance dull and 1 dimensional. But I've come to find the reverse is true with photography. Seems like model's need to be told everything. They need to look posed. This has all been a very fascinating study for me, and I confess I feel I've fallen completely flat with several models, totally lost. Oh I've gotten some good stuff, just by no doing of my own. So I wanted to ask what other photographers do in working with models? Do you dictate every pose or let the model flow? Do you envision poses? As a film director, I work very hard not to envision how the actor\actress will look. The character belongs to the actor, and its my job to make sure he stays on the right path and does so believably. I find the same is not true for photography, seems like the really good photographer knows exactly what he wants, and how he wants the model to pose. Seems when I'm shooting models they look to me for everything, and it scares me, because I really don't have all the answers. I feel like they are asking me who to be, which actors do too, but I've got a story, a script to fall back on, to help them find there footing. But when I'm shooting a model, I have nothing to fall back on!</p>