Working with Canon Speedlite 430EX...

tmcindc

Hello All,

I would like to know what is the best, most effective way to work with 2 430EXs.

I am looking to use these two flashes in an outdoor setting approx 100 feet

apart. I have heard about PocketWizards and such, but I would like to know

which way is most effective.

Is it 2 PocketWizards?

Using the 430s with the Canon ST-E2 transmitter?

Other, better options?

Thanks. I am only a beginner in this and I look forward to any input anyone may

have...

TMCinDC

Sam,

Thanks for the quick response. Just to confirm...if I want to use both Speedlites together, I need to get to PocketWizards, correct?

Again, I'm new so I apologize if this seems like a "basic" question.....

Thanks again...

100' outdoors is too far for the ST-E2, so Pocket Wizards are a better choice. But the flash units will only work in manual flash mode this way, so you may want to get a flash meter as well. Also the 430EX will not be all that bright at 100 feet out. You may want to consider some larger lights for this.

Eric,

I probably misspoke a little; the lights will not be nearly that far apart. In actuality, they will be closer to 25? apart. I am actually shooting a wedding for a friend?s daughter. What concerns me the most is that the couple will have the background of the setting sun while they are under a pavilion which has fluorescent lighting above. Not the best of circumstances, however, I felt that if I was able to sync two flashes, it would probably give me plenty of light to work with.

Any suggestions on your part? Again, I?m new at this, and this is not my profession. I am just trying to help out a friend. That being said, I still would like to do the best job available. That is why the original queston of the ST-E2 or PocketWizards to get the flashes to fire at the same time. I welcome any and all input?..thanks.

100 feet is a pretty long way for the 430 flash - too long IMHO.