Working in Harsh Light

john.mathieson

I'm not a pro sports guy and I will be happy to defer to higher authority, but the basic problem here isn't a sports problem, it's the standard problem of shooting in bright daylight. The standard solutions are (1) shoot to the right of the histogram as far as you can without blowing highlights and (2) use fill-flash. By shooting to the right, you give yourself the ability to pull down the tone curve a bit in post-processing.

As for flash, I don't know whether flash photography is allowed at amateur sports events that take place outdoors. If it is, then give it a try. I shoot a lot of indoor sports and flash is definitely verboten there. I'd be ecstatic if I had the problems you have in the shot you posted.

A neutral density filter might help, too, but I'm not good with filters and would like someone else to confirm or correct that suggestion.

Given you are playing with raw I know that film choice is out the window here.

William is right but forget the flash option I doubt you will be allowed to use it. The attached looks ok, no blown highlights and the players are exposed well. I don't use filters as they cut down speed but it's your call here, too much light is always better than not enough make sure you expose the players well and the rest will fall in line.

A larger app will blur the background more and keep the eye looking at the action here better.

Nice job.

cheers

Mark

Yes I am using Digital (Nikon D200) shooting in RAW.

I certainly could use a flash, but I would guess that from the distance I am shooting from it would be pretty ineffectual - even a Nikon SB800. Could try, though.

The example I posted is one of the best I was able to get today - still pretty contrasty, I thought. Here is one that was NOT so good - first unedited, then the second one with Raw settings changed - Exposure, Fill Light, and Blacks each increased a bit.

Second shot here.