Woo hoo! Getting new equipment!

peter_k4

<p>I just wanted to come share my joy with my fellow Nikonians. I'm the photo editor at my university's newspaper, and this morning, me and the sports editor successfully convinced the board members to buy us a D3s, D300s, 70-200 VR2, 24-70, 16-35VR a CF manfrotto tripod, and 2 SB-900s ! :D<br>

I've never used the multicam 3500 system or any of the other features of these bodies. I'll no doubt be coming for advice in the next few weeks when I get confused!<br>

cheers!</p>

<p>Well Jim, what can I say? I'm a photographer not a proofreader! :)<br>

We've been living off a D80, D40, 18-55 and 55-200 for the last few years, and the paper has had a surplus in the last few years as well, so we had it coming!<br>

The best part is that my NAS is now satisfied (at least until I graduate..) without having to pay a penny myself!</p>

<p>A year ago I was at a 4-day photo seminar. Another person who attended was a general-assignment reporter for a small newspaper in Florida. His DSLR was a D200 (yes, D200, not even a D300; the D300S had not been released at that time). He covered his local NFL team's games with that D200 (that is US professional football).</p>

<p>And now college kids are using the D3S, etc.</p>

<p>That's because most newspapers are broke, Shun. Sometimes it helps to have your corporation run by a small army of free student volunteers ;)<br>

I personally use a D200, 18-35, 50 1.4 and 80-200 2.8 and it does everything I need. But hey, I wanted new cameras to play with and they had money burning a hole. This equipment will help to improve our sports and indoor event coverage significantly. It should also last for 20 years and I'm sure will seem old and crappy at that time, and I'm sure the photo editor then will argue that he needs the D9s to take better photos! :P</p>

<blockquote>

<p>I just wanted to come share my joy with my <strong><em>fellow Nikonians. (?)</em></strong></p>

</blockquote>