Who makes the Carl Zeiss in Japan?

oh_navi

I am new to the world of carl zeiss.

I have a number of confusions about it.

Contax of the kyocera group uses carl zeiss with yashica mount.

The new zeiss ikon will be made by cosina.

Who makes the carl zeiss in Japan?

What are the relationship between carl zeiss, contax, kyocera,

yashica and cosina.

Thank You for any advice.

The Zeiss website does explain the realtionship.

Essentially, the Zeiss lenses that are assembled in Japanese factories are 100% Zeiss. The glass, design, QC are all supervised by Zeiss engineers and are up to Zeiss standards. The main reason for moving to Japan was two-fold. Financial...since the labour in Japan was (at the time of the move) cheaper than in Germany and to be closer to the site of the camera body production (since Kyocera was producing the Contax line).

The Contax community stioll has quibbles about whether the Japanese or the West German lenses are different in quality but Zeiss maintains that the standards have not dropped simply because the lenses are assembled in a different country.

I would imagine that Zeiss was simply being practical in partnering with Cosina for producing the body of the new Zeiss Ikon RF. They already had experience (and the ability) to produce M-Mount cameras and lenses. It would be a simple matter for Zeiss to supply the engineering expertise as far as the glass and lens design and allow the Japanese to assemble them. Also, a couple of the new ZM mount lenses will still be made in Germany.

Just as there are a lot of practical reasons for Zeiss to patrner with Cosina it was also a practical solution for Zeiss (who have no camera distribution infrastructure) to partner with Hasselblad to distribute and sell the new RF.

In any case, the prices for the new body and the new lenses are beyond my reach.

Back in the early 70's Yashica wanted to expand their lens production, so purchased the