White Lightning Strobes -- What's the Downside?

ted_springer

Hi,

I have been looking into strobes for portraits, for the past few months. I've got $1000 to spend and I keep coming back to White Lightning/alien

bees. I've heard such great things about them. Power, portability, reliability, all in one neat little package. I am thinking what's the catch? Has

anyone had any bad experiences with White Lightning Alien Bees? If so what lights would you recommend in my price range?

I have used three of the older WL strobes for about 15 years now. Thos used with film camera they have been very reliable, NO trouble or malfunctions and I would say good value and good quality... as far as the Alien Bees, thats the newer ones Ted is talking about, and I have no knowledge of that one.

I would venture a guess and say the AB's would be a good investment.

'I am thinking what's the catch?"

As thye used t osay in bad ads, White Lightning /Alien Bees parent company has always direct ed marketed: they don't have a distributor and they don't have dealers. On the other hand they have very aggressively implemented terrific customer relations including very fast and economical repair turn around times. The only downside I've encounterd with them is that graphics look silly.

After using 4 White Lighting Ultras for over twenty years with only three repairs and turn around times of less than a week each time, I guess I'm more than a little pleased. By the way, That includes lots of bumps and bruises on the road shooting architecture and hundreds of days shooting non-stop on portraits. I've only replaced one flash tube and I broke that one. I can't even estimate how many thousands of pops have gone through these things.

My business partner uses four of the X3200 series and got them at my suggestion about 7 years ago. He loves them.

Make careful comparisons between the big guns and the Bees. More power and more controls on the big boys.