which school or is school even necessary?

<p>I am 34 years old and have recently re-fallen in love with photography. I am currently a manager in a company living abroad but have found the business world isn't that suitable for me. I have found my passion and it is photography and would like to be a professional. I am in the dilemma of quitting my job, moving back to America and taking on serious debt in order to go back to school for at most two years. <br>

My question: Which school or is it necessary? I have looked as NESOP, the Art Institute in Dallas, Paier College and a few others. So far I am leaning towards NESOP because I don't have to take courses I already took in College 10 years ago like math and English. NESOP is expensive and so is Boston. My plan is to get in, excel in my field, get out and make money. I have seen other responses about schools but most are for younger people with time on their hands, I don't have that luxury.<br>

I would appreciate your feedback and suggestions, mid-life crisis' are all they were said to crack up to be! </p>

<p>No you don't need a formal education. An education will not guarantee you a job, not even close.</p>

<p>You need to decide on what type of photography you want to do, and seriously consider what types of photography you can find work in.</p>

<p>I suggest you learn as much as possible while you keep your current job. Read books, practice shooting whatever you hope to shoot for a living.</p>

<p>Well if you have saved enough money to support yourself for the best part of a decade, then go to school and learn the trade. It will take you a number of years of experience and hard work to approach your current income level. If you try to start up your own photo operation, you will quickly find that the photography part is maybe 20-25% of your time, you already dislike the other 75%. :(</p>

<p> </p>

• 2 weeks later...