Which paper for a newbie on the Epson 3800?

My background is that I've been using a Leica V35 enlarger to print B&W prints

from 35mm. I've used the nice Agfa RC papers as well as their fibre based. Now

I'm going to move to digital printing. Assuming I buy an Epson 3800 which paper

(s) should I be looking at? It's all new to me and the array is confusing.

Thanks for any advise.

It's hard to find fault with Epson Premium Luster. It has a high DMax, reasonably smooth surface with little tendency to bronze. The surface is durable enough to withstand heat-mounting.

Ilford Gallerie Smooth Pearl is another good paper, a little less expensive than Premium Luster but available in 50 sheet boxes. It tends to magenta compared to Premium Luster, but behaves well after being profiled with Eye One Photo.

Depends on what look you want. Start with the Epson papers: the Premium Lustre, Velvet, and Matte. (The basic heavyweight matte is a suprisingly good all-around paper for cheap.) After that, I like the Hahnemuhle Rag; light on the texture, and they make it in a couple different weights and even a double-sided version. I don't do a lot of b&w, but I have seen some gorgeous b&w prints on Hahnemuhle Rag.

I've long since standardized on matte surface papers. Epson Enhanced Matte is a good

starting point ... yeah, I know someone is bound to pipe up and say that it yellows over

time, but with B&W prints I like the way it ages. Color is another matter.

In addition to that, I use Epson Velvet Fine Art, Hahnemühle Fine Art Photo Rag, and Moab

Kayenta. Profiles are available for all of them that work pretty well, although I find the

Hahnemühle profile is a little off the mark compared to the others. The Epson Velvet Fine

Art is about my favorite of these papers: like the surface texture and consistency.

I want to try some Crane Museo Silver Rag, however. ;-)

Godfrey