Which Nikon lens to get for macro photography of flowers?

tenna_christensen

Basically I'm buying a D40 with a 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G kit. I'm wanting to buy a

macro lens too though, and my best bet from my research would be the 60mm f/

2.8D AF Micro. Any other suggestions or comments?

I'm new to this so I'm hoping some of you guys with a bit more knowledge can

help me out. Thank you so much in advance!

If you have not yet bought the D40, it may be time to reconsider. The D40 and D40x are unique among Nikon DSLRs in that they require the focus motor to be in the lens (AFS) in order to autofocus. This rather severely limits the lenses you can use with full compatibility.

I think the D40 is primarily targeted at folks who will buy the kit lens and 'call it good'. If you're already thinking outside of that box, it might indicate that the D40 is a poor choice for you. Just my $0.02.

Autofocus is useless for flower close-ups. The 60mm or one of the 105mm AF Micro lenses would give you metering and excellent image quality. I use the 105 AF-D and 60 AF-D and think they're great. The 200mm is also great because of its ability to abstract ... but it's very expensive, as is the 105 VR. And big, too.

The 60mm is a nice flower Macro lens as well as a pretty good portrait lens. I own one and love it. Having to manual focus is not a big deal in Macro photography. You will prefer to MF in those situations anyway.

Thank you so much guys!

I agree with you Brian about having to manual focus. I probably would choose to do that anyway. And yeah I was checking out the 105 VR too but it's too expensive for me.

Todd, I haven't bought the D40 yet... what else would you recommend though?

Thank you!