I am a Canon shooter, but can confirm I have been happier in the long run with my Canon lenses. I have over time ended up upgrading my Sigma and Tamron lenses. Eventually, they start to show their age and not work optimally. Cheap lenses are ok if that is all you can afford, but if you are a serious photog you will eventually outgrow the cheap lenses and eventually upgrade to a Nikon lens. Why not just buy the Nikon lens now? Better investment long term.

"can confirm I have been happier in the long run with my Canon lense"

Ditto with Nikon!

LOL. Sandy, by accidentally neglecting to capture the "s" in "lenses" when you pulled the quote from Model Mayhem Gallery, you've unwittingly committed that cardinal sin of online photographers, appearing to have spelled "lens" as "lense." Unfortunately, I was a typesetter by trade, so I can't help but proofread as I browse through threads. When it first popped out at me, I assumed it was just another misspelling of the word, but it was fun to find out it was serendipity. :)

We didn't need dialogue. We had faces!

I've used 3rd party lenses for most of my life, originally because I couldn't afford Nikkors for everything. I still have a Tamron 28-75 and it gets used regularly, it's been very good for the last decade. Just bought a 24-120 Nikkor as part of an fx purchase and it does very well but the Tamron stays. I also have what may be the least expensive lens I've ever seen, a small off brand 19-35. It's been used, abused, tossed around and cussed at but it delivers a unique look that nothing else I have offers so it sticks around. It's funny though, the lenses in the OP probably are the same thing just rebranded. Makes me wonder at times if there is just one huge lens factory at the north pole that makes all the lenses on the planet.

Rick H.

• Like 1

Haste makes waste, as Granddad used to say! :oops: