Which flatbed scanners will scan film on the glass?

My Epson V500 would scan film on the glass just fine, sharp with no film holders and any size up to the lid glass size. The Epson V600 has trouble on the glass. It seems to crop the image into rectangles. But more important, the image is not sharp on the glass and needs to be raised. I'm looking for a good film scanner that will go to 6400 dpi or more with on the glass film capability, hopefully up to 5x7.

I've got an old Epson 4870 which purports to scan up to 4800 DPI, but I see no improvement over 2400 or even 1200 DPI. Many users feel that these high resolutions claimed for flatbed scanners are much exaggerated. I've no knowledge of current scanners and their capabilities.

The Epson V600 has trouble on the glass. It seems to crop the image into rectangles.

I don't know why that would be. Is the software in professional mode (if that's what it's called on the V600) where you can manually select the area to scan?

It seems that the V600 has its focus set slightly above the glass surface, as it might be when the film is in holders which raise it slightly. I did once find that my scanner had a lot more depth of field than I had expected, after using it on some 3D objects. I'm surprised that you haven't encountered Newton's Rings with the film directly on the glass.

Edited by John Seaman

In my experience, with thousands of slides digitized, anything beyond a true 4000 pixels per inch in normal cases resolves 'grain' and dye clouds. There are some special films that may be exceptions, but not even Kodachrome...

The main limitation is the resolution of the film itself, not just the scanner limitations.

There may be something new out there now, but until a few years ago the claimed 6400 and above resolutions on flatbeds were sales division fantasies.

for some older comparisons see

2015: A scanning Odyssey - Nikon Super Coolscan LS-9000 ED